296. Cafe Gratitude

This may sound corny, but I am grateful that I was referred to Cafe Gratitude. After my long trip, I was feeling particularly jet-lagged, a good 5 days after getting back. I had remembered that a friend had told me about an amazing vegan restaurant in San Rafael, so I decided to head over and see if maybe a really healthy meal would get me back on track.

I explained my situation to the waitress, and she recommended the “I Am Energized” smoothie. It’s a cool concoction of green veggies, including kale, cucumber, avacado, jalepeno, and a few other items. It was kind of like drinking a cold soup through a straw and was very refreshing, plus had a nice kick from the jalapeno. Here’s the suprising part (to me) – I really did feel energized, and in much better spirits. Maybe there is something to this eating raw and vegan…I think I may go back and buy the cookbook!

Cafe Gratitude has a very different menu than you’ll find elsewhere. The staff members are very friendly, and enthusiastic about working here. The physical space has a different vibe, too, with big couches in the waiting area and books to read while you wait (most are written by the cafe owners, Terces and Matthew Engelhart). They sell all the books at the cafe, as well as their board game “Abounding River” and a variety of food products. They also have an online store where they sell many of these items.

Where: 2200 4th Street, San Rafael, CA 94901 (map)

Hours: Daily 10 a.m. – 10 p.m.

Phone: 415.578.4928

Cafe Gratitude website

About Anne Mosnier Kennedy (374 Articles)
Real Estate Broker / Cal-Haas MBA / Architect / Real Estate Investment Instructor

Leave a Reply

