Half-Day Cafe (Kentfield)

The Half-Day Cafe is my decades-long favorite breakfast spot in Marin. When I first started coming here, I had just discovered scones, and this is where I could get the best fix. They serve them fresh, warm and with delicious berry jam. I’ve recently branched out into breakfast biscuits (slippery slope, I know), which are amazingly light. All their breakfast items I’ve had (read: almost all) are tasty and filling, yet I always feel OK afterwards which tells me they use high-quality ingredients.

I love the lofty old brick structure which has been opened up and re-framed with wood colums and beams but still has the huge workshop-style windows in place on three walls, including the south wall overlooking the patio/garden dining area. There’s so much natural light pouring in that I never mind sitting indoors if the patio is full or closed from bad weather.

Expect a wait (usually 15-30 minutes), which doesn’t seem to depend upon the patio dining being open or closed. To pass the time, there’s usually a pile of newspapers left by other diners for perusing (if you are sans smart phone).

Where: 848 College Avenue, Kentfield 94904 (map)

Hours: M-F 7:00 – 2:30 S-S 8:00 – 2:30

website

About Anne Mosnier Kennedy (374 Articles)
Real Estate Broker / Cal-Haas MBA / Architect / Real Estate Investment Instructor

Leave a Reply

